Anahata Chakra – Heart Chakra





By keeping our heart centre balanced we can withstand all storms of life with compassion, love & understanding.





Sanskrit Meaning – Unstruck

Anahata Chakra is located in the spine directly behind the area of the heart. It is seen as a beautiful bright green or blue  lotus flower with 12 petals.   The elemental quality of Anahata Chakra is air signifying movement through expansion and contraction of the muscles and organs. It is controlled in the body through prana (in the breath) our life giving energy.

The Elemental Quality of Air in Anahata Chakra

The element of air moves through the Anahata Chakra carrying the winds of change in our lives.  We can feel deeply moved in our heart at times, be uplifted in our emotions, be inspired or feel blown away by life experiences. Even the size/speed of our electrical brain waves are connected to the quality of air in our bodies and how well we breath.  We have all experienced situations where a lack of fresh air is un- available, or we are breathing too shallowly and begin to feel tired/listless and start to yawn.  This natural yawning process is the body’s way to make us breath more deeply in order to increase our intake of air/oxygen to wake us up for the brain to function better.

Anahata Chakra is our centre for Love and Compassion. Love can be compared to the air element by needing to flow freely in both giving and receiving  equally in our lives. When the air energy is balanced, we feel empathy, compassion, love, forgiveness and have a graceful approach to life.  If the air energy becomes unbalanced, we can feel anxious, worried, uncaring, insecure, and not feel loving towards ourselves and others.

The animal associated with Anahata Chakra is the Antelope signifying tenderness, grace, inspiration and with this energy it leaps over pettiness.

The organs linked to Anahata Chakra are the heart, breast and lungs.  The organ of action is the hands and the sensory organ is the skin for touch.

Air Energy Balancing with Asana’s

Asana’s that induce an expansion to the chest area: Backward bends, Fish pose (Matsyasna), Camel Pose (Ustrashasana), Hand Raising Pose (Utthanasana), Wheel Pose  (Chakra Pose), Crescent Moon Pose (Ardha Chandrasana).

Air Energy Balancing with Pranayama, Bandha, Mudra & Mantra

Pranayama: Alternate Nostril Breathing (Nadi Shodhanana) Bellows Breath (Bhastrika), Full Yogic Breath, Frontal Brain Cleansing (Kapalbhati)

Bandha: None

Mudra: Heart Gesture (Hridaya Mudra)

Mantra: Yam