Sahasrara Chakra – Crown Chakra





 When we reach the void of totality within ourselves. It’s gift to us is eternal bliss and an understanding of all things within and without.





Sansksrit Meaning – One Thousand Fold

The literal meaning of Sahasrara is one thousand; however a more apt description is of a lotus flower with an infinite number of petals. Sahasrara Chakra is seen as a shining iridescent Lotus Flower with an infinite number of petals and is located at the crown of the head.

The power of all the other Chakras along with thier elemental qualities dwells deeply within Sahasrara Chakra.  In some traditions Sahasrara Chakra is not deemed a Chakra as such but an abode of higher consciousness and connection to the divine. It is said that when the Kundalini serpent energy rises up through the Chakras and reaches Sahasrara Chakra, matter and energy merge into pure consciousness; a state of intoxicating bliss and realisation.  Sahasrara Chakra has been described as the crown of expanded awareness, the threshold between psychic and spiritual realms, the abode of Shiva or super Consciousness, the void of totality. It is everything and nothing – the culmination of Yoga – the perfect merging.

If the energy of Sahasrara Chakra is balanced, we feel a diving connection to all things, we have a spiritual nature. We feel released from ego driven desires, and are able to trust in our highest guidance and know that we are guided in all that we do. If the energy is unbalanced we will still be guided but this guidance will probably be ego influenced rather than from our highest guidance and this can cause us to become unsure of our self, reducing our self-confidence and creating fear and anxiety.  It can also create negative influences in the physical and this can be seen in the form of apathy and problems with the understanding and retention of knowledge.

Sahasrara Energy Balancing Asanas

Asana’s that bring the crown of the head onto the floor such as the Headstand and variations (Sirasana), Fish Pose (Matsyasana),  Bowing Pose (Pranamasana)

Sahasrara Energy Balancing with Pranayama, Bandha, Mudra & Mantra

Pranayama: All Pranayama’s

Bandha: Master Lock (Maha Bandha)

Mudra: All Mudras

Mantra: Om (AUM)